Another Misconception

For everyone, friends help them get through times of difficulty and joy.  Some have friends who everyone knows, and some who few people truly know.  Then there are the ones who get a bad rep because of what society deems unacceptable.  I have a friend who, even though we have not known one another as long as some of my other friends, has been a great person and confidant.

He and I write back and forth to each other about different subjects, film project ideas we both have and different events going on.  He has supported my decision to go back to school and finish my degree, he has always been supportive of whatever my wife and I decide for the two of us and our growing family’s future.  He has given me and my son nicknames, and the best thing about his letters, he writes exactly how he speaks, dropping the Gs off of his progressive verbs like “bein” instead of “being”, uses y’all instead of you all, and uses written facial expressions to show mood.  He’s so true to himself in his writing, that in reading the letter, you actually feel as though he’s right there having a conversation with you.

The kid is great, and I say kid only because he is a few years younger than I am, and says he wants to help me teach my son how to play soccer.  He has a son of his own but unfortunately doesn’t get to see him that often, the reason is because he is in a correction facility.

Now the way I described him up until that last entry made him seem like a great guy, and he is.  The problem with our society, and I was guilty of it as well until I met Lynie, is we all consciously or subconsciously label people without really taking the time to know who they are.  We label according to the way people dress, look, their race or gender, their age, and what type of social situation they are in; all types of superficial aspects that often times blindly guide our actions.  So the next time you decide to judge someone, try to think about being more open-minded, I think the world would benefit if everybody did.

Leave a comment